Chinese Cashews & Veggies Dish

40-DSC_4165-400x400
(I forgot to take a picture, but the picture above is a similar dish.)

This is the vegan version of our favorite Chinese Cashew Chicken dish. I’ve tried to figure out the sauce for this dish for a LONG time and never quite gotten it right. This is the closest I’ve come so far 🙂

Chop the following veggies first so they are ready to saute in the sauce.
Broccoli pieces
Chopped Carrots
Chopped Celery
Diced Red Bell Peppers

Add the above veggies and the following ingredients to a saucepan and saute everything on medium heat. NOTE: We’ve learned never to let broccoli get mushy or it ruins the flavor of the whole dish. Saute these just until they are tender/crisp.
1/2 cup olive oil
1 1/2 tsp garlic pwdr (or 6 cloves fresh garlic)
2 tsp salt
3 Tbsp vegan chicken broth powder
3 cups water
1/3 cup cornstarch (mix in cup of cold water before pouring into hot pan to avoid lumps)
1 Tbs rice vinegar
2 Tbs soy sauce
1 Tbs sesame oil

Add the following veggies at the end:
Can water chestnuts
Can of bamboo pieces
Can of baby corn
2 cups fresh chopped mushrooms
3 cups cashews

Serve over steamed rice!

This entry was posted in Rice Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chinese Cashews & Veggies Dish

  1. Eliza says:

    Yummy! I want to try this. I’ll put it on my meal plan for next week. Does it really need 3 cups of cashews? That seems like a lot and cashews are spendy. Do you think I could get by with 1.5 cups?

    • plantsonly says:

      Sure, it’s all a matter of taste. We like lots of cashews 🙂 I get them in bulk at Sam’s club. I would just add a little more salt (maybe 1/2 tsp) so you can keep the extra flavor.

Leave a comment