Tips for your New Lifestyle

If you’re like me, you’re going to be cooking a lot more than you’ve ever cooked before. So there are some great ways to minimize your time in the kitchen.

1. Get a food processor. This will dice and slice your vegetables in lightning time so you’re spending less time at the cutting board.
2. Buy things in bulk so you don’t have to keep going back to the store to buy the same thing over and over again. I get nuts (cashews, walnuts, almonds, pecans) in bulk from sams club because it saves so much money. I also get the BIG tub of spices because they get used so fast. I reccomend getting Onion Powder, Cumin, Chili Powder, Basil, Oregano, and Garlic Pwdr in bulk.
3. Always double the recipe (for the Happy Herbivore book, I sometimes triple or quadruple) so you have an extra meal to put in the freezer. I got a whole stack of these tin foil pans.

Then I cover them with tin foil so I can mark them with a permanent maker.

4. Rinse everything with water as soon as your done using it. Cleaning is so much easier when everything’s not crusted with day-old food.
5. If a meal didn’t turn out very good, add something on top to make it better. We add TVP Bacon bits to meals that need more flavor, and it works great. I also added a non-beef gravy to another meal and made it 100 times better. One of my roast recipes had a soggy wheat meat that we ate around, so all the veggies were gone. Then I baked what was left of the soggy wheat meat and they made awesome “chicken nuggets”.
6. Re-use leftovers for the next meal. Most meals are really versatile. I had extra rice from a cafe rio salad recipe and I used it in a tortilla with a leftover chili recipe for an awesome burrito.
7. Use things in the fridge that are about to go bad rather than using the newest things. Look in the back of your recipe for ingredients that need to be used up, and you will often find the perfect recipe to use up your high priority foods.
8. Don’t wait until you’re starving to think about what you’ll have for dinner. That usually means you’ll be eating out or end up eating something that’s not good for you. If you’ve waited too long to start dinner, snack on some protein-rich nuts and a piece of fruit (bananas are easy!) to give you energy to make dinner. Another fast snack between meals is Sweet Potato fries. Just slice up a sweet potato and put it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.
9. Remember that every purchase you make is “voting” for the industry who produces it. If you’re craving a big hamburger, don’t give up on everything. Make a meal that’s similar in texture or taste, and the cravings will eventually just go away.

I’ve been at it for 6 weeks, and I’m looking forward to this lifestyle for the rest of my life!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tips for your New Lifestyle

  1. oatsnwheat says:

    Awesome post!
    (1). I’m looking into getting a food processor. I’ve found that prep takes the most amount of time and cooking is the easy part.
    (2). I’m only on day 11 and have spent a large portion of shopping on condiments and the small bottles of spices that can run $4 or $5 each! I’ll invest in the bulk bottles for the next round.
    (3). Rip’s single servings always leaves me with leftovers for the next day. It’s definitely great to have left overs, and incorporating them with something new for the next meal.
    (4). I do that too! It bugs me when a dish come out of the dishwasher still crusty.
    (5) & (6). Same idea as #3, mixing with something new.
    (7). Definitely. I’ve had to modify following the E2 meal plan exactly because of this.
    (8). I have found myself in that position, hungry, wandering around Whole Foods. Luckily I was able to resist the bakery section which didn’t offer vegan desserts. It helps to have only good stuff at home because I’ve been grabbing fruit, nuts, yogurt, etc. to tie me over while making dinner.
    (9). Hubby made a point tonight while eating his veggie burger. It just didn’t have the same chewiness as a meat burger….but close enough for reaping the rewards of a much healthier meal.

  2. Pingback: The Multi-Billion Dollar Industry that Doesn’t Need to Exist | Plants Only

  3. Pingback: Where to Begin with Your New Lifestyle? | Plants Only

Leave a Reply

