Awesome Enchiladas & Cheese Sauce

If you’re not a fan of nutritional yeast, I have a great cheesy sauce recipe for you that has NO nutritional yeast. I tweaked the vegan yum yum cheezy sauce so it also doesn’t have Margarine. And I was out of Almond Milk, so you don’t need that either! This sauce works well for nachos, enchiladas, or even a Mac and Cheese type pasta. We even put it on bagels.

Vegan Cheezy Sauce
Place all the following in a blender:
1/3 cup oil
1/2 cup cashews
2/3 cup flour
2 Tb cornstarch
2 Tb miso (I used yellow miso)
2 Tb Tahini (roasted sesame seed spread found by the peanut butter)
2 Tb Tomato Paste (I use 1 Tbsp double concentrated for flavor)
6 Tb low-sodium soy sauce or tamari
2 Tb lemon juice
1 cup water
2 tsp Dijon mustard
1 tsp garlic
2 Tb cornstarch
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp chili pwdr

We use this sauce in conjunction with these awesome enchilada style burritos.

I posted the recipes for these Enchiladas in this earlier post: Vegan Enchilada Casserole We just switched it up with different cheese sauce, and wrapped it in a whole wheat tortilla.

The other recipe I tried this week was the Gnocchi recipe from Vegan Yum Yum. I used boxed wheat gnocchis to save me from making them by hand, and added spinach and mushrooms. You can see her recipe here.

This was okay, but not one of my favorites from her book. 😉 I’m sure white flour gnocchi would have tasted better, and the mushrooms added a weird flavor, so I can’t say her recipe wouldn’t taste better!

This entry was posted in Mexican Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awesome Enchiladas & Cheese Sauce

  1. Pingback: Southwestern Egg Rolls- Totally Vegan & Delicious! | Plants Only

Leave a Reply

