Roasted Tomato Vinaigrette Salad – YUM!

The other day we went to this place called “Epic Casual Dining” and they didn’t have much selection, so I ended up getting a salad. But OH what a salad it was! I ate it up like candy. So today I looked up the menu again and here’s what it says they use in the salad:
Baby Mixed Greens, Roasted Tomato Vinaigrette, Apple, Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Fontina Cheese & Candied Pecans

But I have to tell you that the best part of this salad was the dressing, so I went on a search for a Roasted Tomato Vinaigrette recipe and I found one from this website, and added my own variation it was excellent!

Roasted Tomato Vinaigrette Dressing
2 tablespoons good quality balsamic vinegar (this is a MUST!)
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon brown sugar (my variation)
Big pinch salt
4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest (I used 1 tsp lemon juice)https://plantsonly.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=551&action=edit#category-add
Freshly ground black pepper
I added 1 Tbs tomato paste

Drizzle onto mixed greens with fresh arugula. Add candied pecans or walnuts (just saute them with a little brown sugar and water and let them dry) and apple chunks. I would also add sun-dried tomatoes next time! I must say again, this was excellent!

This was a separate part of the recipe for roasted zucchini and tomatoes but the dressing was great by itself!

Baked Zucchini
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons thyme, minced
1 teaspoon rosemary, minced
1 teaspoon sweet smoked Spanish paprika
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
Cherry tomatoes (20 large or 40 small)
4 1/2 pounds zucchini

Combine the garlic, thyme, rosemary, and paprika with the olive oil, and then mix in diced zucchini and cherry tomatoes. The recipe says to broil them in the oven for 3 minutes, but that totally didn’t work for us. I find that stir-frying the zucchini in a saucepan gives it a better texture. Then add the browned veggies to the salad if you want.

This entry was posted in Salads and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

