Great New Vegan Recipes


We’ve been making this great avocado/tomato guac to dip chips in, and we love it. So I decided to add a little more nutrition to it and make it a meal. My experimenting has turned out to be really delicious this week!
Here’s the first recipe I made up that was so delicious! It might sound interesting, but it was SO good!

The great thing about my own concoctions is that I get to share the recipe with you!
Awesome Guacamole Sandwitches
(I’m sorry I never took a picture of these!)
2 Avocados
2 Vine Ripe Tomatoes
1 Can Corn, drained
1 Can Black Beans, drained

Mix all of the ingredients together and put a generous amount on a toasted whole wheat bagle, with two halves making a sandwich. This was so good we made it two days in a row and the kids loved it!

The next thing I made this week was a Pot Roast recipe from the Happy Herbivore CookBook, pictured here.

I accidentally used too much beef-broth on the wheat meat, and it was sort of soggy, but the flavor of this dish was awesome! So after we ate all the carrots and potatoes from this dish, I took the wheat meat and baked it like you do for the chicken-style seitan, and it was SO DELICIOUS!!
I call these “chicken” nuggets to my kids and they LOVE them. I can throw them in anything.

After making so many vegan recipes, I’ve kind of gotten the hang of what to do with different ingredients that would taste good, so I made up this pasta recipe all on my own! So I get to share it with you!

Penne in Creamy Spinach Pesto
1 cup walnuts
1 cup water
1 bunch fresh spinach
1 Tb Onion Pwdr
2 Tsp Garlic Pwdr
3 Tb Sweet Basil
1 Pkg Silken Tofu
Blend all the ingredients in the blender until smooth. Cook a box of penne pasta, drain, and then add the sauce. You can throw any veggie in with this pasta (broccoli & tomatoes). I put in the beef-style seitan pictured above, and it was awesome!! The kids love pasta, so this was an obvious hit for them.

Last but not least, I made 2 vegan cakes this week for my sweet little girl’s birthday! My favorite thing about this picture is the two cute boys puckering their lips like they’re going to blow the candles out too!

The first cake was a chocolate brownie recipe from the Happy Herbivore book, and the second was a Thai Milk Cake recipe I found online. I cheated on both cakes with a buttercream frosting that made them delicious!

See the post about Why I’m Eating Plants Only!

This entry was posted in Meat Substitutes, Pastas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

