Plant Strong Update and New Meals!

Day 7 – Friday, Feb 3

New Dish for the Day:
Terriyaki Bowl with Chick Peas , Broccoli, Carrots, Water Chestnuts and homemade terriyaki sauce.

Day 8 – Saturday, Feb 4

This was our cheat day because of a family dinner at Ruby River. But not TOO much cheating, because even though they have absolutely my favorite steaks ever, I ordered fish, squash, fresh veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots) and a cinnamon yam. John ordered a seafood pasta and a salad. So we still didn’t get steak! But afterward we went over to his parents house for cheesecake and vanilla cake with chocolate frosting. It was surprisingly not as amazing as I remembered after eating plant strong for a week straight! And we could both feel something tight in our chest at the end of the night. Weird.

Day 9 – Sunday, Feb 5

On Sunday I made the Oatmeal cookies again with whole wheat flour, applesauce, banana, craisins, and brown sugar. They didn’t turn out as good because I forgot the baking powder, so they were a little more gooey than last time.

Day 10 – Monday, Feb 6

In the morning I totally felt like cheating after the weekend, and I had leftover seafood pasta with added steamed broccoli. For lunch I was totally not in the mood to cook, so I ordered Dominos Pizza with mushrooms, tomatoes, and spinach and no meat. See? The meat’s easy for me to give up. But the cheese on the pizza was a definite cheat. Vegetarian is easy for me, but vegan? Not so much. We’ll keep trying, and cutting back on the milk & cheese, but I think I’m totally over meat. 🙂

Day 11 – Tuesday, Feb 7

Leftover pizza, Terriyaki bowls. John brought home Costa Vida without meat and it was still awesome. Beans, rice, cilantro, tomatoes, guacamole. Then I had a church function with chocolate fountains and of course I was happy to take a break again! Like I said, the desserts are the hard part of giving up milk. 🙂

Day 12 – Wedensday, Feb 8

We met John for lunch with Barbacoa burrito that consisted of: Black beans, pinto beans, rice, corn, tomato salsa, lettuce, and guacamole.

For dinner I made homemade Cafe Rio salad.

I’ve made this before and it takes forever but it’s delicious and I thought it would still be great with tofu instead of chicken. Each individual part is made seperately and the meal took me 2 1/2 hours! But it was worth it.
So here’s the tofu (chicken):

And the cilantro lime rice:

Pico de gallo

I forgot to take a picture of the black beans, and the homemade tortillas, and the homemade corn chips!
But here is the final product after 2 1/2 hours!

It was awesome! Best meal we’ve had since the vegan kick (John’s words!). Definitely reccommend.

So I’m feeling pretty good. As of today, my arthritis pain has gone from really bad to almost completely gone! My weight loss is still between 4-7 lbs depending on the time of day. Energy levels are the best part. I just feel good. And I wish I had a cholesterol number to give you because I discovered last night that…

This is my family history of cholesterol.

My Grandma: Cholesterol levels in the 400s, 3 Heart Surgeries, a Stroke.
My Dad: Been on Cholesterol pills for 12 years.
My Oldest Sister said her cholesterol is really high.
This is definitely in my genes to have a problem with cholesterol, and I think I’m gonna go get it checked just for the heck of it to have a before and after number.

First question everyone asks me when they find out I’m doing a vegan/vegetarian diet.

Can you guess what it is? Come on, what would you ask? That’s right. How do you get your protein?
People are so programmed by the farming industry advertising to think that we can only get our proteins from cows, chickens, pigs and fish. Like our entire planet doesn’t have protein anywhere else, and all the vegetarians in the whole world are suffering from a protein deficiency. Not true. In fact, I’m probably getting more protein now than I ever have before because of all the pure and natural sources I’m getting from multiple kinds of beans, tofu, huge variety of nuts, whole wheat and grains, and yes, even in my vegetables. Did you know that spinach is 51 percent protein?? Mushrooms 35%, Beans 26%, Oatmeal 16%.

Next Myth: How are you getting enough calcium?
Some of the richest sources of calcium on the earth are: green leafy vegetables, nuts, oranges, kidney beans, lima beans, whole grains, swiss chard, lentils, raisins, broccoli, kale, celery, tofu, and romaine lettuce.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

