Day 4 Plant Strong

I can’t tell you how much fun I’m having making all these new recipes and shopping for ingredients I’ve never even seen before. I’m having so much fun looking through the recipe books and finding fun new dinners to try. I’ve never enjoyed cooking this much in all my life. It is beautiful.

Here are the recipes I’ve made so far.

Day 1- Sat 28th

Breakfast– The first morning we woke up and had our usual smoothie and went shopping for ingredients.

Lunch– We came home from shopping and made grilled panini sandwiches with whole wheat bread, avocados, cilantro, tomatoes, and grilled mushrooms.
Dinner– We tried the Engine2 Raise the Roof Sweet Potato Lasagna which was excellent! It took us 3 hours to make, so luckily I made a double batch so I could put one in the freezer for another time! Busting with antioxidants, this lasagna has: Green and Red Bell Peppers, Broccoli, Carrots, Onion, Garlic, Mushrooms, Corn, Tofu, Spices, Tomato Sauce, Spinach, Tomatoes, and Sweet Potatoes! Yeay for kickin’ our cholesterol levels in the butt!
In the evening we got a bean mix soaking to use the next day.

Day 2- Sun 29

Breakfast– Smoothie
Lunch– Leftover Lasagna
Dinner– 3 Bean Chili packed with carrots, celery, bell peppers, jalapeno, tomatoes, corn, spices, and cilantro. We didn’t have the tofu or mushrooms for this meal because we had used them the night before, so I learned really quickly to be stocked up on mushrooms and tofu. The chili was good, but a little too spicy for our tastes, so I’ll hold the jalepeno next time.

Dessert- For dessert we made these amazing oatmeal cookies with bananas used as an egg substitute and apple sauce for the oil substitute! We used honey instead of sugar and whole wheat flour. They came out so delicious!

Day 3- Mon 30

Breakfast– Smoothie
Lunch– Leftover Lasagna
Snack– Sweet Potato Fries (baked without oil, and a dash of salt) They were awesome!
I found that I was feeling much more hungry and icky on this day, and actually found out that when you drop milk products completely you sort of go through a detox stage where approximately one gallon of mucus will be expelled from your kidneys, spleen, pancreas, and other internal organs. Sounds Fun! Bring on the detox!
Dinner– We made up some guacamole with cilantro, avocado, tomato, green onion and cucumber to top the chili with and some rice to go with it and it was much more tasty.
Snack– Almonds, Carrots, and Clementines

Day 4- Tues 31

Breakfast– Smoothie
Lunch– I decided to make something a little more kid friendly from the book because, although my children are eating the meals pretty dang well for being full of vegetables, I wanted to make it easier on them. So I tried this vegan mac-and-cheese, to which of course I added mushrooms, broccoli, spinach, and tomatoes. It was alright. The kids probably would have liked it better without the added veggies πŸ˜‰

Snack– I’ve been dying to try these black bean brownies in the Happy Herbivore book so we whipped them up after lunch as a reward for the kids eating so well! These guilt-free delights are made of black beans, bananas, agave nectar instead of sugar, vanilla, cocoa, and oatmeal. What I love about these dessert recipes is that they only make a small portion so you don’t wind up eating an entire 9×13 pan of them! They were really moist and flavorful and Isaac kept asking for more so I guess the kids approved. πŸ™‚

I really wish I had taken my cholesterol levels at the beginning of this experience so I could show you hard fast numbers of what this lifestyle does for your heart. But I’m sure it’s not too late as I’m only 4 days in. So hopefully soon! But I do have to report that I have lost 4 pounds in 4 days. Which is just an added bonus of course. πŸ™‚

Edited to add: Day 5- Lost 7 pounds now! Energy levels awesome. Depression levels nonexistent (for the last 7 days anyway). Regularity: Best it’s been in my life. πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

